League Champions 2012

Congratulations to the Ladies Football team & management on their 5-14 to 4-04 victory over Celbridge in the League Final


It was a perfect evening for football  and what a venue, the centre of excellence for football in Kildare, Hawkfield. This Division 4B final was going to be a tough one to call, Moorefield were probably slight favourites having beaten Celbridge in their two previous encounters in this league. But one can never tell with a final and this is how the game unfolded:

Moorefield were the first to get their names on the score board with a fine point from Dearbháil Kelly. Despite Moorefield having a lot of possession in the opening ten minutes and creating numerous scoring chances it was Celbridge’s  Sarah McNiff that found the net first. Moorefield responded quickly with two points from Ciara Conaty and another from Dearbháil Kelly, putting them a point ahead after 15 minutes. Celbridge were very quick to move the ball on the counter attacks and Moorefield’s backs were forced to work extremely hard to defend their lead.  Moorefield’s keeper Niamh Doyle was putting in a fine performance to keep  Moorefield in the game, she was well assisted by her full back line Laura Hannon, Shauna Doyle and Clodagh Cummins. However, Moorefield  were exposed at times by the speed in Celbridge’s half forward line of Leah and Ailbhe Earley and Orla Gowran and conceded two more goals despite the tireless efforts from Moorefield’s Shauna Doyle, Amber Masterson and Michelle Curley. Moorefield’s Dearbháil Kelly was quick to respond with a fine pass  from some excellent forwards movement and was rewarded with a goal.  Celbridge finished the half with a point from their ever threatening half forward, Orla Gowran. Half time score was Moorefield 1-4 to Celbridge 3-1.

Moorefield started the stronger in the second half with Dearbháil Kelly scoring three unanswered points. The half time switch of Aisling Curley to centre half back ensured Celbridge’s attacks were broken down and Moorefield were now more clinical in front of goals. Moorefield’s new midfield pairing of Sheena O’Brien and Amber Masterson covered every blade of grass to ensure that Moorefield’ s half forwards Hannah Quirke, Dearbháil Kelly and Ciara Conaty got a plentiful supply of ball despite the enormous efforts of Celbridge’s  Sinéad McCabe, Aisling Brophy and captain Dervilla Byrne to mention but a few. Hannah Quirke was unlucky not to find the net but was rewarded a penalty for her efforts, which Dearbháil Kelly converted. Celbridge’s Orla Gowran got another point from play, however, Moorefield began to dominate all over the field and the reintroduction of Emma Curley to the full forward line at 40 minutes made a difference straight away. She scored two goals within five minutes of her reintroduction to put some daylight between the sides.  The Moorefield full forwards were always threatening, particularly Eliza Kelly, Emma Curley, Demelza Callaghan, Ciara Cusick and Rowena Hurley-Lynch who all contributed enormously to every score Moorefield won and kept up the intensity right to the end. Dearbhail Kelly adding another 1-2 to her tally, Ciara Conaty another 4 points and Hannah Quirke deservedly getting her name on the score board with a well taken point. Celbridge’s Sarah McNiff added another 1-1 to her tally while Chanice Corcoran got a fine point from play. These are two very young teams and gave spectators a fine clean display of ladies football and the final score may not reflect fully the level and intensity at which this game was played by both teams.

Full time score was Moorefield 5-14 to Celbridge 4-4.

Moorefield: Niamh Doyle, Laura Hannon, Shauna Doyle, Clodagh Cummins, Michelle Curley, Amber Masterson (Capt.) Shauna  Doyle, Aisling Curley, Sheena O’ Brien,  Hannah Quirke (0-1), Dearbháil Kelly (3-7), Ciara Conaty (0-6), Ciara Cusick, Demelza Callaghan, Emma Curley (2-0), Eliza Kelly, Rowena Hurley-Lynch, Éadaoin Cummins, Lorraine McSorley, Kate Hannon, Rodica Brodetchi.

Celbridge: Kate McGuinness, Aoife O’Brien, Avrill Carroll, Aisling Naughton, Aisling Brophy, Dervilla Byrne (Capt.), Sinead McCabe, Gillian Brooks, Grainne Cuniffe, Ailbhe Earley, Leah Earley, Orla Gowran (2-2), Sarah McNiffe (2-1), Lorraine McIntyre, Nicola Farrell, Caoimhe Daly, Andrea Clarke, Fiona White, Chanice Corcoran (0-1).

This entry was posted in Ladies Football Results, Senior League. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to League Champions 2012

  1. Pingback: Match Reports 2012 | Ladies Football

Comments are closed.